Key Dates

January 1

Registration Opens

March 1

Abstract Submission Deadline

March 30

Registration Deadline

May 27-29

Meeting Dates

The 7th International Forum on Statistics of Renmin University of China

The 9th China-R Conference

The 2016 Baifendian Data and Value Forum

This is probably the best of times for statistics.

The rapid advance of information technology makes massive data collection feasible–the big-data era has arrived. Indeed, for the past several years, we have experienced the fast development of various big-data related industries (e.g. biomedical, finance, mobile internet, and telematics). Without any doubt, a huge demand is being generated for data science, for which statistics should play a significant contribution.

This is probably the worst of times for statistics.

The big-data related sciences and industries are developing too quickly. This has led to a proliferation of massive datasets with complicated structures. In many cases, we find existing statistical model cannot fit this non-structured data. Very often, we find MLE cannot be computed for massive data. Clearly, our domain knowledge for many emerging big-data related industries and sciences is so limited that the development of the discipline of statistics is very much challenged both globally and domestically.

To cope with these challenges, we need a platform to exchange opinions and discuss ideas. To this end, Renmin University of China, Capital of Statistics, Peking University, and Baifendian Information Technology are working together to present the largest statistics conference ever in China. This joint conference will feature the following three parties:

  1. The International Forum on Statistics (IFS), started in 2004, is a biannual international conference sponsored by the School of Statistics at Renmin University of China and the Department of Statistics at London School of Economics and Political Science. The objective of IFS is to bring together active researchers both internationally and domestically. It has been one of the most influential international conference on statistics in China, and this year will mark its 7th international forum!
  2. The China-R Conference (CRC), started in 2008, is organized by Capital of Statistics (COS). The objective of CRC is to provide a free sharing platform to lead more people know about, promote and develop statistical methodology and its applications in different areas. As one of the largest data science conferences in China, CRC has already attracted tens of thousands of people to participate. The 8th CRC has been held in six cities in 2015, including Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou, Nanchang, Xi’an and Wuhan. Peking University hosted the CRC in Beijing in 2015, which attracted more than 4000 registrations. 2016 will mark the 9th CRC.
  3. The Data and Value Forum (DVF), started in 2014, is an annual conference initiated by Business Intelligence Research Center (BIRC) of Peking University. The objective of DVF is to promote statistics application in industry, with a particular focus on mobile internet, telematics, and quantitative investments. This year, BIRC and Baifendian, a big-data practitioner and leading figure in the Chinese big-data industry, will host the Baifendian Data and Value Forum.

The theme of this joint conference is: Big Statistics and Data Science. The objective is multi-fold. First, we wish to bring together active researchers both domestically and internationally. By doing so, research ideas can be exchanged and statistical theory can be promoted. Second, we wish to bring together statistical researchers and industry practitioners, with a particular focus on Chinese big data related industries. By doing so, statistical ideas can be inspired by industry application, while industry practice can benefit from statistical theory. To accomplish this goal, we have received support from: Baifendian, QuantTech, Kaola, and many other industry partners.

We wish to take this opportunity to promote statistics contribution to data science. We wish the voice of statistics to be loudly heard in data science. This leads to the conference theme: Big Statistics and Data Science. The topic of this joint conference is broad–anything related to data analysis, regardless of whether it is a theoretical or applied work. To promote statistical application in the big data industry, the conference particularly welcome those researchers who focus on big data related industry problems.

The conference is to be held at Renmin University of China on May 27 to 29 in 2016.

Participants are invited to send the abstracts of their papers to bigstatistics@163.com (Miss Li Shen, Miss Cheng Yao) before March 1, 2016.

Participation is free of charge. Participants are encouraged to register on the conference website (http://stat2016.china-r.org/en/) before March 30, 2016. Due to the limited capacity of the venue, please register as early as possible.

We look forward to meeting you in Beijing!

Organizing Committee of the joint conference on BSDS

January, 2016

重要日期

1 月 1 日

开放注册

3 月 1 日

摘要提交截止

3 月 30 日

注册截止

5 月 27 日至 29 日

会议召开

第七届中国人民大学国际统计论坛

第九届中国R语言会议

2016百分点数据与价值国际论坛

对统计学而言,这或许是最好的时代。

信息技术的蓬勃发展让海量数据触手可及。大数据时代已然到来。在过去的许多年里,我们经历了大数据相关产业的高速发展,诸如生物医药、金融、移动互联网、车载信息技术等。毫无疑问,数据科学的巨大需求正在悄然兴起,统计学正大有可为。

对统计学而言,这或许是最坏的时代。

大数据相关科学与产业的发展太过迅速,随之而来的是具有复杂结构的海量的庞大数据集。在许多情况下,现有的统计模型无法拟合非结构化数据。通常,我们也无法算出大规模数据下的最大似然估计。在方兴未艾的大数据相关产业与科学面前,我们的领域知识显得如此苍白无力。放眼世界或立足中国,统计学都正面临着严峻挑战。

因此,我们需要一个交流观点、讨论想法的平台。为此,中国人民大学、统计之都、北京大学以及百分点集团倾力合作,联合举办迄今为止中国最大的统计大会。本次大会是由下述三个部分组成的联合会议:

  1. 国际统计论坛(The International Forum on Statistics, IFS)始于2004年。它是由中国人民大学统计学院与伦敦政治经济学院统计系共同赞助的两年一次的国际会议。该会议旨在联合国内外活跃学者,已经成为中国最有影响力的国际统计学会议之一。今年将迎来第七届国际统计论坛。
  2. 中国R语言会议(The China-R Conference, CRC)始于2008年,由统计之都(Capital of Statistics, COS)主办。会议旨在提供一个自由免费的分享平台,让更多人了解、推广、发展统计学方法及其在各领域的应用。作为国内最大的数据科学会议之一,R会议迄今已服务数万人。2015年第八届会议在北京、上海、广州、南昌、西安、武汉六个城市举办,其中北京大学举办的北京会场参会者逾4000人。今年将迎来第九届中国R语言会议。
  3. 数据与价值国际论坛(The Data and Value Forum, DVF)始于2014年。它是由北京大学商务智能研究中心(Business Intelligence Research Center, BIRC)发起的年会。该会议旨在推进统计学在生产中,特别是移动互联网、车载信息技术以及量化投资等方面的应用。今年,中国大数据产业坚定的践行者与领军者——百分点公司将与北京大学商务智能研究中心携手, 举办百分点数据与价值论坛。

本次联合会议的主题是:大统计与数据科学。会议的目标是多方面的:首先,我们希望建立国内外活跃研究人员的联系,以此促进研究观点的交流与统计理论的进步。其次,我们希望建立统计学研究人员与从业人员的联系,尤其关注于中国的大数据相关产业,从而让统计理论与产业实践相互促进、相得益彰。为此我们有幸得到百分点、量邦科技、以及考拉征信等多家企业合作伙伴的鼎力支持!

我们希望以本次会议为契机,推动统计学在数据科学领域的贡献,让统计学在数据科学领域发出强有力的声音。会议主题“大统计与数据科学”也正是由此而生。本次会议所探讨的话题将是广泛的,我们欢迎任何与数据分析相关的问题——无论是理论研究或是实际应用。为促进统计学在大数据产业中的应用,本次会议尤其欢迎源于大数据相关产业实际问题的研究。

本次会议将于 2016 年 5 月 27 日至 29 日中国人民大学 举办。

与会者请于 2016 年 3 月 1 日 前,将论文摘要发至 bigstatistics@163.com(李燊、成瑶),并于 2016 年 3 月 30 日 前在会议网站(http://stat2016.china-r.org/)上注册。本次会议不收取任何费用,接待能力所限,请尽快完成注册。

我们期待您的到来!

大统计与数据科学联合会议组委会

2016年1月